I Posted a Picture

I have 18,000,000 assignments and almost as many work hours, but I will post poems. Because I can. 

Smiley Smile

Smiley Smile

I Posted a Picture

I posted a picture, and in it I smiled
All teeth
With lips pulled back
And eyes wild

An image
A creature
Of vigor and glee
Which all of you wrongly accepted as me

It was not a lie in the strictest of senses
I was
And I could be
If I played with tenses

If science and magic were no longer fighting
If I got a haircut
Or played with the lighting

If doctors were mothers and kisses could cure
Then she could be me
And I could be her.

by Heather Emme

To read all the #verseday poems, click here. To read my twitter poems, click here.

What's on your mind?

