I Am A Woman Who Counts Change

I wrote this poem just last week. I usually let things percolate, then write them, then edit them, then leave them in a box for a few years, then hate them and never show them to anyone. This is…not that.

Jeton coin, Nuremberg, 1553

Jeton coin, Nuremberg, 1553

I Am A Woman Who Counts Change

I am a woman who counts change
Touching coins
A step between a hundred hands
I add it up
I make the numbers match
Forty, fifty
Forty, fifty
Twenty-five
And twenty five
I roll unroll
And clink, clink, count
Value speed
And numbers clean
The way a younger, stronger me
Valued poetry

by Heather Emme

To read all the #verseday poems, click here. To read my twitter poems, click here.

What's on your mind?

